Simon says: Build your village.

They say it takes a village. I’m not really a people person. Step four of the Whole30 is to build a support team. This part is harder for me than following the food rules. I like the thought of the accountability, but currently I’m not a fan of the sharing. A few days ago, I told my friend that I’m planning this. That was easy. Today I told my husband and kids. That was harder. I don’t know why.

But doing this Whole30 is really important to me and skipping steps lacks commitment. If I want this, I have to suck it up. It’s only 30 days. When I decide what date I want to start, I’ll post it on facebook too. I don’t much facebook, but at least it’ll be “out loud” and out in the open.

I’ll also subscribe to the Whole30 Daily Newsletter and maybe post on their forum. I mentioned to the girls in my Mom Group that I was going to do a Whole30 soon. The villagey thing to do would be telling them my start date too.

Step three is commit. Get pumped, choose a start date, go public, take action. Seeing as I went through the effort of creating this blog, I’m committed to the idea. I’ll be more pumped as I get more sleep. Mom’ing a seven week old is often sleeplacking. I’m just happy I am posting today, even if it is after midnight now.

I haven’t decided if I want to start my Whole30 on September 1st or if I want to wait until the Monday SeptemberWhole30 special event on the 5th. Sleep might decide it for me.

Speaking of which….good night.

Leave a Reply

